Tick Tock. Tick Tock.

I have two sons. They are at the age where everything is a competition. Who can do it the fastest? Who is the quickest? Who do I think is the best? We have just spent the school holidays together, and it was lovely to have some time to do things that had no time limits. Lovely long walks – where we didn’t have to be anywhere, just home before dark.

Here’s counting down to the next batch of school holidays, but in the meantime the real world has us all back on schedule. And sometimes craft has a schedule too. Today is my turn on the “Quilting on the Go- English paper Piecing” book tour schedule, and I am chuffed to be here.

Sharon and I have talked about her book, and a number of the projects in it, for a good while before the book arrived. I knew a number of other talented makers were tackling the quilts from the book, so was firmly of the view that I did not want to ‘compete’ in that space, and that I would make a small pouch, pillow even. (And thank goodness. Have you seen @quilty_carlie ‘s bird version of the cover quilt? Just brilliant!)

A pillow. Wee pouch. Totally doable. Fool proof. Even I could turn out a pillow or pouch that would be photograph worthy.

But then the book arrived. It was read and re-read over a few days, and the idea for clocks took hold.

First, source mechanisms. Check.

Maybe I would like some choices for clock hands? Also Check.

Then decide fabric. Check. Check. (Lucky I had a bit lying about).

2 inch hexie papers. Sorted. (I like BIG shapes, and these are ace).

I believe we are ready.

I found the clock a really pleasurable project. So much so that I made two in just a few days.

The thing I most like about this project. You are not going to remove your papers. I tend to be a bit heavy handed with glue when I EPP, so had a lovely time really sticking these babies down, and they are not going anywhere. Anytime. Ever. Stick them down well. Rejoice in the delight that is heavy handedness.

I also love the big shapes. In two very different versions I used fabrics that lend themselves to large shapes. Naturally you can fussy cut every piece (you need 19 for each clock), or a few to provide accents in the piece.

For the backing, Craft Board is recommended in the book. That’s readily available and can be easily cut with a hand held blade. For both my versions I actually used 3mm ply board. For a few reasons. I live out of town, and it’s winter, and I did not fancy a 30 minute each way car ride and the ply board was right here in the shed. (Thank you Himself Husband). It’s also straightforward to cut and provides great structure. I stuck my fabric piece using an everyday (clear drying) craft clue, that I had at home.

The first clock I made (was surprisingly using text fabric) and was gifted to my Dad, and has hung in his living room for over ten days. It was my crash test dummy for the time keeping mechanism. It is keeping perfect time.

The second version is hanging at the Studio. It’s a combination of Tula Pink Precut hexies (making things even quicker) and some uber cool Fish prints.

The single copy I have had of Sharon’s book has been very well read by now. There’s several dog eared pages of things I may have started or have plans for. Like many I have been waiting for my wholesale order of books to arrive. The arrival date has been a moving feast BUT the motherload is now imminent. (Actually by the time you are reading this post I will be licking stamps on your orders). Yee-book-hah.

This is a very nice book.

Congratulations Sharon. What a thrill it all must be, and I for one am thrilled you have delivered your EPP passion so well in print form.

So – to speak retail for just a mo.

In addition to supplies to make a clock kit, we also have full template and papers kits for three of the quilts contained within.

Books available here. (Buy local, we love that).

Clock kits and mechanisms right here.

And paper/template kits for book quilts are here.

So righty-oh. I think that’s my piece done, in time!

Cheers. Toodlepip and happy stitching.

AvB

